Memories of Home

There is a certain way the sunlight sometimes falls, and the breeze feels and a quiet spaciousness appears that will always take me back to the house I grew up in.
When we would be hosting a get together, usually a birthday…holidays felt different, there would be a short time between when the house was completely clean with the table and serving bar set, and the guests beginning to arrive. Mom would be in the back and dad and my brother off somewhere while I sat in the living room. I can still feel the way the sunlight would hit the carpet in lines, coming through the blinds, warming it. I can still see the view from the living room window: our driveway empty and waiting for visitors. It was quiet and still and soul warming. That’s probably one of my favorite memories about home.

Leave a Reply

